Kate Buckley’s contribution to Ovington recognised


Ovington Cricket Club’s Kate Buckley was awarded ‘Clubman of the Year’ at the 2018 AGM and Presentation Night, which took place at The Knavesmire pub last Saturday.

Buckley, a local artist, was given the achievement due to her sustained support of Ovington CC over the past 10+ years. As well as previously helping with junior teams, transporting players and generally helping out, this has recently transferred to the senior sides in the past few seasons. Her contribution over recent years for cricket in South Bank generally has been very welcome and most appreciated, and she is a deserved recipient of the shield. All at Ovington CC would like to give Kate our congratulations.

Kate Buckley (pictured) has been recognised for her contribution to the club over the past few seasons

There was also significant changes in the club captaincy when it comes to our senior teams. With Peter Kelly  towards the end of last season, Benjamin Busby, after a close vote, was awarded the first team role with Joe Whale his deputy. Jimmy Taylor has moved up to be 2nd team captain, while Luke Smith is to be 3rd team skipper, one of the youngest senior Ovington cricket captains for some time. Kareem Baqai will be Smith’s deputy. There was also other changes in the club committee, as Sam Prangnell stepped down after a successful reign as Treasurer. He will be replaced by Simon Rogerson.

It was also discussed that a commemorative bench for Derek Davies, more commonly known as ‘Grandad Cookson’, who passed away this year, would be looked into.

1st Team Batting – Peter Kelly
1st Team Bowling – Neil Metcalfe

2nd Team Batting – Harry Buckley
2nd Team Bowling – Kurt Baird

3rd Team Batting – Graham Walton
3rd Team Bowling – Jack Walmsley

Senior Performance of the Season – Joe Whale’s (152 not out) vs Drax II
Clubman of the Year – Kate Buckley

2019 Officers

1st Team – Benjamin Busby
2nd Team – Jimmy Taylor
3rd Team – Luke Smith
Foss League – Stefan Littlewood (in absentia)

Vice Captains
1st Team – Joe Whale
2nd Team – tbc
3rd Team – Kareem Baqai

Committee Changes
Treasurer: Simon Rogerson

The Ovington Cricket Club President Maurice Bell, also presented Ovington CC with a defibrillator. We will have further news about where it will be situated shortly.

Special thanks to all our Sponsors, who helped the club to continue to grow it’s Junior and Senior sections in 2018.


herida healthcare




The Knavesmire Pub


JG Fielders


About Author

Administrator of the Ovington CC Website. Woeful bowler.

Comments are closed.